Insights for Katy Perry’s ‘Chained to the Rhythm’

So while I was browsing the internet, I thought of playing music on Youtube to break the silence in the room. I stumble upon this song which was not that new to me. I’ve been hearing it before but it didn’t really made an impact on me. Anyways, I think I was halfway of the song, I tried checking on its music video.
Well, I was fascinated at first how Katy managed to add this colorful concept in her music videos. The make up was great, yeah.

k9.jpg

k11

Good background dancers with their excellent dance moves and that futuristic concept was amazing. k12

k3
But I dunno, something felt wrong. As I continued listening word for word and seeing the graphics, I started feeling uncomfortable. I’m not sure if its because in every videos like this from artist like Katy Perry, I cannot prevent myself looking for a touch of that what so called ‘Illuminati conspiracy’ or there maybe there is some hidden message that she wanna portray that pops in my mind while watching it. k10.jpg

In here, people are falling in line for that one where they will be running like hamsters. And what’s terrifying is that they walk like a robot.

As what the lyrics said, ‘We’re all chained to the rhythm’. There were several scenes were people’s actions are viewed as if they are controlled, manipulated uuhhh. I dunno what’s the best word to describe it.

k2 There’s this roller coaster ride where they entered this capsule. Well for me, i think it reflected something about how people recognize themselves by  being validated thru likes on Facebook or any social media.

k4

“Yeah, we think we’re free” as Katy sings out in this scene with her delighted smile.

I realized that this video is kind of  disturbing, in a sense that it has an impact to what people today are doing.

k5

But I still finished up until the end.

Is it me, or is Katy Perry acting like she’s crying for help. Like, she started to see the way things work out in her surroundings.k6

k7.jpg

Felt goosebumps in the end with that look on her face.
Well there’s something,maybe, that she wanted to tell.

I enjoyed the music, but I can’t listen to it the same way before I saw the music video.

I went on with the section and boom, some people are also thinking the same idea that I have. Comments such as, ‘good and scary’, ‘raw reality’, ‘cry out for help’,
See for yourself. Below is the link for the music video and the lyrics.

LYRICS:

Are we crazy
Living our lives through a lens
Trapped in our white picket fence
Like ornaments

So comfortable, we’re living in a bubble, bubble
So comfortable, we cannot see the trouble, trouble

Aren’t you lonely
Up there in utopia
Where nothing will ever be enough
Happily numb

So comfortable, we’re living
in a bubble, bubble
So comfortable, we cannot
see the trouble, trouble

So put your rose-colored glasses on
And party on

Turn it up, it’s your favorite song
Dance, dance, dance to the distortion
Turn it up, keep it on repeat
Stumbling around like a wasted zombie
Yeah, we think we’re free
Drink, this one’s on me
We’re all chained to the rhythm
To the rhythm
To the rhythm

Turn it up, it’s your favorite song
Dance, dance, dance to the distortion
Turn it up, keep it on repeat
Stumbling around like a wasted zombie
Yeah, we think we’re free
Drink, this one’s on me
We’re all chained to the rhythm
To the rhythm
To the rhythm

Are we tone deaf
Keep sweeping it under the mat
Thought we could do better than that
I hope we can

So comfortable, we’re living in a bubble, bubble
So comfortable, we cannot see the trouble, trouble

So put your rose-colored glasses on
And party on

Turn it up, it’s your favorite song
Dance, dance, dance to the distortion
Turn it up, keep it on repeat
Stumbling around like a wasted zombie
Yeah, we think we’re free
Drink, this one’s on me
We’re all chained to the rhythm
To the rhythm
To the rhythm

Turn it up, it’s your favorite song
Dance, dance, dance to the distortion
Turn it up, keep it on repeat
Stumbling around like a wasted zombie
Yeah, we think we’re free
Drink, this one’s on me
We’re all chained to the rhythm
To the rhythm
To the rhythm

It is my desire
Break down the walls to connect, inspire
Up in your high place, liars
Time is ticking for the empire
The truth they feed is feeble
As so many times before
They greed over the people
They stumbling and fumbling
And we about to riot
They woke up, they woke up
the lions

Turn it up, it’s your favorite song
Dance, dance, dance to the distortion
Turn it up, keep it on repeat
Stumbling around like a wasted zombie
Yeah, we think we’re free
Drink, this one’s on me
We’re all chained to the rhythm
To the rhythm
To the rhythm

Leave a Reply

